2016 Concert Series

2016 Concert Season

Concert Series 1 – March 2016

The first concert for 2016 opened with the Academic Festival Overture of Brahms followed by the first Horn Concerto of Richard Strauss, featuring orchestra member, Patrick Webb as soloist. The Symphony no. 6 by Dvořák, which combines Bohemian spirit with Romantic style, concluded the program. VIEW PROGRAMME

BRAHMS Academic Festival Overture Opus 80
STRAUSS Horn Concerto No.1 Opus 11 Soloist Patrick Webb
DVORAK Symphony No.6 in D Major Opus 60
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles

Concert Series 2 – June 2016

The first Gala event for the Orchestra took place on 25th and 26th June. Entitled “Quintessential Rodgers and Hammerstein”, this program was hosted by Nicholas Hammond who starred as Friedrich in the film, The Sound of Music. Excerpts from many of the Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals were performed by Judith Rough, soprano, Lotte Latukefu, mezzo-soprano, Anna Booth, soprano, Richard Lane, tenor and Stephen Wheatley, baritone in this very popular program that was enjoyed by capacity audiences. VIEW PROGRAMME

With Nicholas Hammond as MC
Also Starring Judith Rough (Soprano) – Lotte Latukefu (Mezzo Soprano) – Richard Lane (Tenor) – Stephen Wheatley (Baritone) and SHSO Chorus
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles

A fundraiser for Alzheimer’s Australia, music scholarship/s, and the orchestra

Concert Series 3 – September 2016

The Australian composer and Southern Highlands Symphony Orchestra patron, Ann Carr-Boyd, arranged her work Fandango, especially for the Orchestra to open the concerts on 10th and 11th September. This was followed by the Brahms Violin Concerto with Scott Stiles from the renowned Salzburg Mozarteum Orchestra as featured soloist. Borodin’s Symphony No. 2 completed the program. VIEW PROGRAMME

FANDAGO Especially orchestrated for the SHSO
BRAHMS Violin Concerto  Soloist Scott Stiles from the Salzburg Mozarteum Orchestra
BORODIN Symphony No.2 in B Minor
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles

Concert Series 4 – November 2016

Celebrations Overture in C by Alfred Hill was the opener for the concerts on 19th and 20th November. The symphonic tone poem Ultava (the Moldau) by the Bohemian composer, Bederich Smetana, showcased the different sections of the Orchestra with its depiction of musical images and scenes along the river Moldau. The program was rounded out by the epic work, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 (“Pathetique”). VIEW PROGRAMME

ALFRED HILL Celebrations Overture
SMETANA Vltava (Die Moldau)
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No.6 Opus 74 “Pathétique”
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles