2019 Concert Series


Concert Series 1 – March 2019

The first concert of the year on 23rd and 24th March opened with Verdi’s Overture to Nabucco, best recognised by the rousing theme of the Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves. The Second Piano Concerto by Australian composer, SHSO patron and Southern Highlands resident, Ann Carr-Boyd, was performed by John Martin, who has worked with many stars in Australian and international concert and theatre productions. John generously gave an encore with one of Gershwin’s Preludes, creating a languid bluesy atmosphere. The second half of the program featured Elgar’s Enigma Variations, with a repeat of the much-loved ‘Nimrod’ variation for an encore. VIEW PROGRAMME

VERDI Nabucco Overture
ANN CARR-BOYD Piano Concerto No.12 Soloist John Martin
ELGAR Enigma Variations
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles

Concert Series 2 – June 2019

The second concert series for 2019 was held on Saturday 29th and Sunday 30th June. The program opened with the “Pageantry” overture by Alfred Hill followed by the Concert piece for Four Horns by Robert Schumann. This work showcases the far-ranging sonorities of the horn and was superbly performed by Robert Johnson, Radu Boros, Paul Stiles and Patrick Webb. The four soloists generously played some much-appreciated encore quartets at both concerts. The second half of the program was given over to Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”. This was the second time that the orchestra has performed this masterful work as it was on the inaugural program in 2014 and now back by popular demand. VIEW PROGRAMME

Saturday   29th June at 7.30pm
Sunday 30th June at 2.30pm

SCHUMANN Concertpiece for Four Horns and Orchestra Soloists Robert Johnson, Radu Boros, Paul Stiles and Patrick Webb
Dvořák Symphony No.9 “From the New World”
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles

Concert Series 3 – September 2019

21st September at. 7.30pm
22nd September at 2.30pm 

JOHN WILLIAMS The Phantom Menace – Suite from Star Wars
LALO Symphonie Espanole Soloist Cedar-Rose Newman
SAINT SAENS Symphony No. 3 “Organ Symphony”
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles

Concert Series 4 – Nov/Dec 2019

Saturday 30th November at 7.30pm
Sunday 1st December at 2.30pm  

ANDREW FORD Big Bang (premiere performance) Conducted by the Composer
RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No.2 Soloist Lisa Kawai
Sleeping Beauty Suite with dancers from A&L Academie de Danse
LEROY ANDERSON A Christmas Festival
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles

The SHSO reserves the right to change the repertoire.