2020 Concert Series


Saturdays at 7.30pm and Sundays at 2.30pm

Concert Series 1 – March 21/22

The first concert of 2020 presented by the Southern Highlands Symphony Orchestra has a Scandinavian flavour with music by Finnish composer, Jean Sibelius and Danish composer, Carl Nielsen. The program opens with the Karelia Suite, a patriotic tableau depicting Sibelius’ cultural identity which was under threat at the time. Emily Sinden, deputy concertmaster of the Orchestra, then features as soloist in the Violin Concerto no. 7 by Pierre Rode, a French composer and virtuoso violinist of the early nineteenth century. The program finishes with Nielsen’s Symphony no.1, a wonderful work that combines aspects of 19th century Romantic style with precise textures from the Classical traditions.

SIBELIUS Karelia Suite
PIERRE RODE Violin Concerto No.7 Soloist Emily Sinden
NIELSEN Symphony No. 1
CONDUCTOR Dr Allan Stiles

Concert Series 2 – June 27/28

Concert Series 3 – September 19/20

Concert Series 4 – November 28/29