2021 Concert Series


We look forward to once again bringing you great music from your own Southern Highlands Symphony Orchestra.

Concert Series 1 – March 2021

Saturday 20th March at 7.30pm
Sunday 21st March at 2.30pm
Oxley College, Station Rd, Burradoo
View Programme

The programme will include:
BEETHOVEN Egmont Overture
BIZET L’Arlésienne Suite No.1
ALFRED HILL Carnival Symphony
DVORAK Slavonic Dance Op. 46 No. 8

Concert Series 2 – June 2021

Saturday 5th June at 7.30pm
Sunday 6th June at 2.30pm
Oxley College, Peter Craig Centre, 11-29 Railway Road, Burradoo
View Programme

The Southern Highlands Symphony Orchestra will perform music of Scandinavian delights as well as Czech, and a new Australian composition at our next concert series in June. Due to the Covid – 19 shutdown we were unable to perform the composition from the Competition held in 2020.

JEAN SIBELIUS Karelia Suite Op.11
ANTONIN DVORAK Romance for Violin and Orchestra Op.11 soloist Alexandra Dening
JOHN CORLEY High Flight   2020 Composition Competition winner based on a poem by John Gillespie Magee Jr. (1922-1941)
CARL NIELSEN Symphony No.1 Op.7 

Concert Series 3 – September 2021

Saturday 18th September at 7.30pm
Sunday 19th September at 2.30pm
McGrath Hall, Chevalier College, Charlotte St, Burradoo

ONLINE TICKETS: Purchase here
IN STORE: Destination Southern Highlands, Mittagong

The Southern Highlands Symphony Orchestra will perform music from Stage and Screen

RICHARD WAGNER Overture to The Mastersingers of Nurenberg
ENNIO MORRICONE Gabriel’s Oboe – theme from The Mission – soloist Michellé Biasutti
JOHN WILLIAMS March from Raiders of the Lost Arc
TCHAIKOVSKY Waltz from Eugene Onegin
Arias and duets by Judith Rough and Richard Lane – Titles TBA
Conductors – Jillian Bridge, Eliza-Jane Corley and Dr Allan Stiles

Concert Series 4 – November 2021

Saturday 27th November at 7.30pm
Sunday 28th November at 2.30pm
Chevalier College, 11 Charlotte St, Burradoo

The SHSO reserves the right to amend the advertised repertoire and location.